Photo by Yiannis Katsaris

Nina Rapi is an award winning playwright. She also writes short stories and essays. Her plays have been published in English, Greek, Italian, German, Slovakian and Polish. They have been produced or presented as staged readings: in New York;  Riverside studios, Soho studio theatre, Southbank Centre (London Literature Festival); Tristan Bates theatre, ICA, Gielgud theatre (West End Shorts Season), Simpkins Lee theatre, Oxford University [UK] ; the National Theatre of Greece, Theatro Technis, Theatre of Piraeus (Analogio Festivals), Theatro T, Theatro Embros (Queer Festival). Her libretto Raven Revisited was produced at Theatro Voyiatzis (and an earlier version at Stegi/Onassis Cultural Centre. ) [Greece]. Her plays have also been presented in Germany, Portugal and India.

During lockdown she made her first short film Stay still so you don’t hurt, screened at Prague Biennale, Paris Short Film Festival, Oslo Poesi, Santa Cruz Int. Film Festival, amongst others  (2021).

She is the recipient of: Best Experimental Short Film Award for STAY STILL SO YOU DON’T HURT @ Int. Motion Picture Festival of India, an audience award at Paris Short Film Festival and four more Film Festivals Awards. Also, Arts Council writing awards, a group award (Raymond Williams), a Best Play Award (BITS Festival, Pirani, India), High Recommendation (Future Perfect competition). She has also been shortlisted in numerous competitions, including BBC international short story competition.

Analyses of her work and her own essays on aesthetics and sexuality, have been published by Cambridge University Press, Cambridge Scholars Publishers, Routledge, Harwood, Mimesis Edizioni, Sokolis, amongst others. She was Founding Editor-in-Chief of BRAND Literary Magazine throughout its duration. She has taught Playwriting/Creative Writing at Birkbeck, University of London and Greenwich University. She is a member of the Writers Guild of Great Britain.

She was born and brought up in Greece (Argos Orestiko, Thessaloniki, Kastoria) but has spent most of her life in London. She now lives between London and Athens.


  • Kiss the Shadow, 2022 & 2010, Athens & London
  • What reality? 2021, New York
  • Splinters, 7 shorts, 2018 & 2017: Athens, Thessaloniki, University of Oxford. Published in Polish 2023 & Greek 2014
  • Angelstate, performed/presented 2015 & 2006, Athens  & London. Published in Greek, Slovakian & Italian, 2019 & in English in 2017
  • Raven Revisited, libretto, 2018 & 2014, Athens
  • Un/certainties (Α/βεβαιότητες), 2018, Piraeus
  • Wild Beats (Άγριες Νότες), 2015 & 2014, Athens & London
  • Edgewise 2010 & 2003, Athens & London
  • Reasons to Hide, 2009, London
  • Lovers, 2000, London
  • Dance of Guns, 1992, London
  • Dreamhouse, 1991, London
  • Ithaka, 1989, London